Lako House Reviews

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Ut elit tellus, luctus nec ullamcorper mattis, pulvinar dapibus leo. Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Ut elit tellus, luctus nec ullamcorper mattis, pulvinar dapibus leo.

Fabulous & spacious for a large family with young children!!
Date of Stay: Dec 20, 2019
My family spent 19 days at Lako House and enjoyed every minute of our time there. We were 5 families, 10 adults and 4 children under the age of 4 years. Having the pool and the hot tub right in the back yard was fantastic. Everyone enjoyed the pool & hot tub daily, in the mornings & afternoons and the adults continued the enjoyment into the evenings while watching the gorgeous sunsets. From the Lako House you can easily access Kona city center and the Hawaiian belt highway for excursions north and south. The house and lanai were spacious and provided generous seating for the entire family to eat together. We would highly recommend the Lako House for a family vacation on the Big Island. Mahalo

Lako response:
Thank you Dean for your family staying at Lako House and also for the kind review. Even with the stay of almost 3-weeks, you folks left the place quite clean and our housekeepers were very thankful. Please do come back to stay with us again someday. Wish you folks all the best in the New Year 2020 !! Aloha, bill/Lako House
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Wonderful
Date of Stay: Nov 10, 2019
This was a great place to stay for a large group. We never felt crowded or cramped. Bill is an amazing host, very responsive and caring. I wholeheartedly recommend Lako house.

Lako response:
Thank you Dorothy for your kind feedback. Please do come back and stay with us again someday soon !! Aloha, bill / Lako House
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
(Airbnb stay)
Date of Stay: Nov 04, 2019
今まで沢山のホテルやコテージ等に泊まって来ましたが、間違いなくこの家が今までで最高 の家でした! ハワイ島らしい癒しをまとい、街までのアクセスも最高、ショッピングモールも近い、海も 近い。何よりもプールサイドから見下ろせるサンセットは息をのみます。ハワイに来ているのに居心 地が良すぎて家でただただゆっくり時間を過ごしたくなる最高の場所でした。オーナーの ビルさんも流暢に日本語を話し、予約のときからチェックアウトまで一切不安を感じることな く泊まれます。今回、我々は大きな人数変更があったにもかかわらず、無条件で変更を 受けて頂いたり、感謝しか出てこないです。 MAHALO!

Private Feedback:
bill さん、今回の宿泊に際して行ってくれた全ての事に感謝します。心の底からあり がとうございました1つ気がかりな事として、残していった食べ物が少し多く なりすぎてしまいました。バナナ、レモンなどの果物も置いて行かざるを得なくな り、すいません。従業員の方々などで食べて頂けたら幸いです。 我々が到着す る日に、ジャグジーを温めておいてくれてありがとうございます。また、プールサイ ドのカーテンを開けておいてくれて、我々の到着時の喜びが倍増しました!沢山のお 気遣いをありがうございます。また必ずリピート利用させて頂きますので宜しくお願 いします! 最後に、ダイニングテーブルに今回の宿泊者全員からのお礼の手紙を 置かせてもらいました。届くといいなぁ!

Lako response:
Nozomu-san’s group gently used our Lako House and departed the place very cleanly. ‘Mahalo Nui Loa’ to Nozomu-san and we look forward to hosting his group again someday in the future. bill / Lako House
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Perfect Local Property for Ironman World Championships
Date of Stay: Oct 08, 2019
Had 14 guests at the property. Plenty of room, everything was in good working order. House was in perfect condition when we arrived! We used the pool, the spa, and all of the appliances. House was clean, kitchen was well equipped including 2 blenders! BBQ was clean and well maintained. The house lacked nothing, and we were very comfortable throughout our stay. I would rent this home again absolutely! Great neighborhood! Great views! Great outdoor and indoor spaces for people to gather! From the house, you can Walk to Ali’i drive or to the Kuakini Highway to watch the race!

Lako response:
Thank you Michael for the very kind feedback. You folks were GREAT too … We really appreciate everyone taking very good care of our Lako House. Please do come back again someday. bill
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
(Airbnb stay)
Date of Stay: Oct 04, 2019
was an absolute great getaway! The house has everything we needed to cook, relax, and enjoy a nice weekend. We’re used to AC and this place does not have AC, but the fans were okay. The pool and jacuzzi were great, in addition to the ocean view! We will definitely book this place again!

Lako response:
Thank you Jerra for the very kind review. With the cathedral ceilings in all rooms and lots of windows to let breezes flow, we’ve been able to avoid needing to ACize the entire area of Lako House. Going forward, we will also be putting on a new metal roof in the coming months and that should reflect even more heat away. Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to hosting you folks again at Lako House someday soon
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
(Airbnb stay)
Date of Stay: Jun 23, 2019
Would 100% recommend staying here. House is beautiful and the view from the backyard is amazing. beaches, restaurants and sight seeing all really close. It’s in a Nice quiet neighborhood and you have plenty of privacy. The host was great to rent from.

Lako response:
Great communication with our team (new coffee maker in place- Mahalo !) and, left Lako House in a respectfully clean state. Please do come back and stay with Lako House again !
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
(Airbnb stay)
Date of Stay: Jun 17, 2019
Outstanding View, Clean, Old Needs updates and air conditioning!

Private Feedback:
Thank you for the use of your home!

Lako response:
Deborah .. Thank you for letting us know about the misleading mention of ‘AC’ on that OTHER (non-Airbnb) website; that website admin has been alerted and our listing has been updated. With that said, we did confirm that our listing on Airbnb does correctly state that AC is available only as an option for just the Twin Room at Lako House. For those that might be reading about this topic for the first time, please note that Kona has a very mild climate, where year-round, average Kona temperatures average 83-84 degrees in the day and 71 degrees at night (and much cooler at night in the Oct-Mar months). Temperature also depends on house design / orientation, time of year, and location. And while it may be very hard to do without A/C in tightly packed-in condo units or small homes with minimal window breezes or homes located in valley or humid beach front areas, Lako House on the other hand sits high upon 30ft rock wall and at an elevation over 300ft; with cathedral ceilings in EVERY room and much less humidity in typically dry Kona, cool breezes that come through the numerous windows are sufficient. Therefore, with very little / no humidity, Air Conditioning at Lako House is not really needed. When it is warm, just keep ceiling & floor fans running with windows & screened sliding doors open to let in / keep the trade breezes flowing.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Awesome!
Date of Stay: Jun 06, 2019
Lako House is perfect for a large group. Good size bedrooms and a large living room. Ohana worked out great. Very spacious Location is close to everything. Beautiful views. Great set up. Bill was very helpful and responded quickly when we had a question or a concern. Thank you for your hospitality.

Lako response:
Hello again Linda ! Thank you so much for the kind comments and also with your team’s help in getting the TV cable box and pool sweep going again. We hope to see you folks again; perhaps for a future Big Island tournament (?). All the best of Aloha, bill .. Lako House 
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
(Airbnb stay)
Date of Stay: May 22, 2019
Our entire group had an amazing time. The location could not be beat! Perfect location for sipping coffee or having a cocktail by the pool, with the best view of the ocean around! Bill was extremely responsive and really made us feel welcome. We’ll definitely be staying here the next time we visit.

Private Feedback:
Thank you so much for everything! Our entire group had an amazing time. The location could not be beat! Perfect location for sipping coffee or having a cocktail by the pool, with the best view of the ocean around! We’ll definitely be staying here the next time we visit.

Lako response:
Richie … Thank you again for you and your group being excellent guests at Lako House and treating our home with kindness and respect. We look forward in hosting you folks again someday in the future. Aloha, bill Lako House
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
What a great place! .. (Airbnb stay)
Date of Stay: Mar 30, 2019
You can’t beat the back porch, with a pool, hot tub and simply incredible view. The back porch alone was worth the stay! The house had plenty of room for the 7 of us, with all the amenities needed. Location was very convenient, close to the airport and about 5 minutes to downtown. We loved our stay here. Thanks, Bill!

Private Feedback:
Thank you, Bill! We had a great stay! Appreciate your hospitality.

Lako response:
Hello again Katie … Many ‘Mahalos’ for staying at Lako House. Please do come back again some day soon Aloha, bill
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Lako House Paradise
Date of Stay: Apr 18, 2019
We truly enjoyed our stay at Lako House. The house is roomy, well maintained and clean. Our party of 12 were very comfortable. The view from the house is incredible and the location is great. Bill is very helpful and friendly and will assist you with any of your needs or concerns. I highly recommend this house and would definitely book here again.

Lako response:
Thank You Cedric ! … We appreciate the kind care your group had for Lako House during your stay !! We look forward to host your group again in the future  🙂 Aloha bill / Lako House
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Awesome view / Accommodating home
Date of Stay: Mar 15, 2019
We had a very enjoyable stay in this large, comfortable home. The view was spectacular and the house layout was excellent. Large house with plenty of beds and restrooms. Backyard has an accommodating pool and amazing view. Didn’t realize how great the view was until we arrived. We will definitely try to book this house again in the future.

Lako response:
Thank you Ken !! … And we agree … Even if there wasn’t a Lako House there, that 180-degree ocean view is unforgettable .. Inspiring deep clear blue in the morning and Amazing sunsets in the evening. Mahalo for staying with us and we look forward to hosting you folks again at Lako House someday the future … Aloha, bill
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Great property. Better owner!
Date of Stay: Feb 13, 2019
The Lako House is perfect for larger groups. This was our second time here, in the past three years. We absolutely love it! Good location, lots of room, great layout, clean and well stocked. Bill is “Mr. Aloha”. He is always pleasant and helpful. Bill is easy to talk to whenever issues may arise. He seems genuinely
concerned about our comfort and experience in the house. We want to be in this house when we come to Kona for our yearly soccer tournament. It would be nice is if we could have the same time slot for the Lako House every year! Thanks Bill!

Lako Response:
Hello Warren … OMG ! … ‘Mr. Aloha’ (my wife is now ‘dying’ from laughter) .. I guess there may be a first time for any thing … Anyway, MUCH Mahalo for the
very kind comments and you folks treating our home with so MUCH Aloha. We certainly look forward to having you all back again next Feb and for many (?) years to come !!
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Friends/Family at Lako House
Date of Stay: Jan 20, 2019
Lako House was a great find. When we booked it, it seemed a bit out of the way, but when we were there we quickly found the location to be ideal. It was central to everything we did, and away from heavy traffic. We had six adults and six kids staying there, but it never seemed crowded and everyone had their own space. The large kitchen was crucial to our stay and we made use of all the amenities. The kids loved the pool. I think they would have been just as happy to stay at the house the whole time over going to the beaches. The view is amazing! We saw whales from the patio two of the nights we were there. Bill, the host, was also easily accessible and quickly solved any problems or answered any questions we had. Overall we had a lovely stay in Kona, in no small part thanks to our accommodations

Lako Response:
Hello Carlene and Mahalo for such very kind feedback !! You folks were great with the house and we really appreciated your proactive communication to enable us to make & keep things right. Thank you also for all your hard work on departure day (linens & towels); our housekeeping team really, REALLY appreciated that !! We hope someday to see you folks again at Lako House. All the best to you in this year 2019 .. Aloha, bill
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Looks just like the picture
Date of Stay: Jan 5, 2019
The home and grounds are beautiful. There was 13 of us. We stayed there most of the time. Why leave? A perfect peaceful vacation. The description was exactly what it was. Bill was unbelievable in all our requests. I would highly recommend to anyone. Already have.

Lako Response:
Mahalo Sharon ! We love to hear when guests don’t want to leave Lako House 🙂 We look forward to perhaps hosting you folks again next time on the Big Island ! Aloha, bill
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Huge house with a gorgeous sunset
Date of Stay: Dec 18, 2018
We enjoyed staying here as a group of 9 for 5 days. A big kitchen and dining were very comfortable to use, and all the equipment and amenities were plenty good enough. Quiet nice neighborhood kept our sleep well and the location was very convenient to go everywhere! The owner was so kind and friendly on the phone, so that I recommend this house if you are coming to Kona as a big group.

Lako Response:
Mahalo Shizuka-san for your kind feedback and repeated visits to Lako House. We look forward to hosting one of your groups again in the future ! Aloha, bill
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Dec 14, 2018, Mike S said…
Great for Large Families
Date of Stay: Dec 7, 2018
This place was perfect for our family of 16…8 adults and 8 kids. We rented the attached apartment and we all fit nicely with all the different bed configurations. The house was fully stocked with everything we needed…towels, sandals, housewares, etc. We spent a lot of time in and around the hot tub and pool. I would highly recommend this house

Lako Response:
Thank you Mike for your group’s stay at Lako House. Thank you as well for your kind comments regarding your stay. We look forward in hopefully hosting you folks again someday. Aloha, bill
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Breathtaking … (Airbnb stay)
Date of Stay: Nov 05, 2018
That is the first thing that comes to mind when you walk in the entrance and look through the windows out into the pool area overlooking the Pacific Ocean. The Lako house was more than accommodating with everything we could have ever imagined needing inside one beautiful home. All the rooms and sleeping arrangements were extremely clean and we felt nothing but comfortable and excited for each moment to spend there absorbing such incredible views. The landscaping was absolutely perfect and waking up to the sound of the waterfall pouring into the pool every morning was unforgettable. We are already planning our next trip back because the experience was so amazing. Thank you again for sharing this house in creating unforgettable memories for all of us!

Private Feedback:
We’re Extremely thankful for your immediate response and opening your Airbnb to us with such short notice. You turned what was going to be an unfortunate series of events lodging for us into an unforgettable experience that has us now already talking about coming back at everyone’s earliest convenience! This was a wonderful home to stay in and you did a great job being a great host.

Lako Response:
Aloha Jesse & team … Thank you for the amazing feedback. We of course are NOT perfect at Lako House but thanks to guests like you folks, we continue to learn and improve 😉 ! We look forward to having you come back and hopefully someday, other new guests, may discover and stay here at Lako House as well. Mahalo Nui Loa !!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Nov 23, 2018, Christopher E said…
Lako House Heaven
Date of Stay: Nov 14, 2018
1st of all bill was tentative to all of our needs he was easily available from phone call or text he was able to help us with anything or questions we had. The house is completely and I mean completely fully stocked with everything and anything you will ever need including shampoo and conditioner in all the bathrooms. This house is huge believe me you can fit as many people as it says comfortably and then some. The views are incredible I will post a pic on this site that I took just 2 days ago. Having the pool and hot tub right in your backyard is awesome especially at night with the stars out. It’s very close to downtown Shops and restaurants on the Bay. This is by far the best house we’ve ever rented and by far the best vacation we’ve ever had.. CE

Lako Response:
Chris & All … Thank you so much for staying at Lako House and for such glowing comments. Of course we had a few bumps along the way and really appreciate your group’s patience while we made things right. To that extent, thank you also for great communications so that we can continue to improve and make Lako House that much better for future guests. We look forward to potentially hosting your family again some day and until then … Aloha from the Lako House team!
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Nov 27, 2018, Tom B said…
Wonderful property with fantastic views
Date of Stay: Oct 11, 2018

My family stayed at Lako house for the Ironman. We rented the house next door as well. This was a great location with easy access to restaurants and activities in Kona Kailua. The house was clean and well supplied. If we were in need of anything, Bill was an easy phone call or text away. Plenty of room to spread out and the kids loved the pool. Thanks for a great place to stay!

Lako Response:
Thank you Tom ! We enjoyed hosting you folks and very much appreciated the timely transparency when a few issues arose. We hope someday to perhaps see you folks again at on the Big Island. Thank you again for choosing your stay at Lako House. We wish you folks all the best in the coming year-end holidays bill, Lako House
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Jun 30, 2018, Tanya M said…
Great property for large group
Date of Stay: Jun 16, 2018
We had a group of 21 people and were very comfortable. The house is well stocked (we stay at a lot of vacation rentals and this had everything!) The view is amazing from the deck/pool/hot tub. Overall we really enjoyed our visit and would highly recommend to a large group! FYI – we did rent all 3 properties, the big house, the Ohana unit and the house next door.

Lako Response:
Thank you Tanya for your kind review. We also believe that one of Lako House’s strong points is the value maximized for large groups; we’re happy to hear it worked well for you folks ! We look forward to your next stay ! Until then, All the best of Aloha !! bill / Lako House
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Feb 13, 2018, Julia H. said…
Great house for a large family!
Date of Stay: Jan 27, 2018
Bill, thank you for everything! Our family vacation was perfect. Our family consisted of three generations (26 members) so we needed a lot of space. Our family wanted to avoid hotels since we all just wanted our own privacy so finding these homes (lako, ohana, hnd) were perfect. The Lako house was large enough to gather in and all three homes were able to room all members, giving us all of us our privacy when needed! We spent everyday in the pool and hot tub! Still missing the pool and the 180 view! The kitchen was also huge which made it so much easier for all of us to cook and enjoy dinner together. Everything regarding the Lako house, Ohana, and HND posted on here and on the lakohouse.com were accurate! Bill is so detailed oriented and easy to work with. If we had any questions or concerns, he was quick to respond. I highly recommend the Lako house, Ohana, and HND to anyone looking for a home to accommodate a large party. From our family to yours, thank you Bill!

Lako Response:
Hello again Julia ! We are very happy that your extended family had a great time on the Big Island and of course, at Lako House + HND. Thank You also so very much for treating our Lako House & HND with great care & kindness … And although the number of folks staying was very large, your family left Lako + HND in very good order and it’s groups like yours that keep us wanting a repeat visits. Please do stay with us someday again in the future. All the best, bill Lako House
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Feb 1, 2018, Anne M. said…
Gorgeous views with a spacious house

Date of Stay: Jan 19, 2018
Gorgeous views overlooking the ocean with a pool and hot tub. Perfect vacation week to celebrate my husband’s birthday. There were 3 couples and plenty of room for all of us. This is also great for large families because it was so spacious. Kitchen was huge so we stayed in to cook most nights. It also had a BBQ which we used a lot. We would highly recommend it and would definitely stay here again.

Lako Response:
Thank you Anne ! We are very pleased to learn that you folks had a great time at Lako House. Thank you also for the kind feedback during your stay. Feedback is a gift we do cherish and it inspires us to improve the stay experience for all who come to stay at Lako House. We look forward to another visit perhaps from someone in your group in the near future. Mahalo Nui Loa !! bill Lako House
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Jan 12, 2018, Dan R. said…
Beautiful pool, views, and extremely helpful owner
Date of Stay: Dec 29, 2017
We had a group of 20 staying at the Lako house, studio, and house next door. Amazing experience! Highlights included: – pool and hot tub with 180 degree views of ocean – sun setting over water every night – grill and outdoor seating by pool for 20 to eat diners in same area each night – extremely close proximity and some space for separate families between the main house, studio, and house next door – Bill the owner is super attentive and helpful with any and all questions about the house and the island. He is also very organized in getting payments for place and clearly laying out all expenses for house, cleaning fees, taxes, and credit card surcharge in very transparent manner – separate fridges and washer/dryer in house, studio and house next door – property was clean and very well described on the website Phenomenal experience and magical place to celebrate my 40th birthday!! Thank you, Bill!

Lako Response:
Thank you Dan for your kind feedback ! We are pleased to hear your group had a great stay and do look forward to potentially hosting your next stay at Lako House. Aloha, bill Lako House
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Jan 13, 2018, Cathy O. said…
Family Christmas Vacation
Date of Stay: Dec 22, 2017
Fantastic views! Great Space! With a family of 14 with a wide range of ages, it was great to have multiple patio sets to eat together. The kitchen was spacious enough that we had different folks doing different things.. the neighborhood was quiet.. perfect sunsets close to Magic Sands Beach… would definitely stay again, if we go back with a big group..

Lako Response:
Thank you Cathy for your feedback. We look forward in potentially hosting your group again at Lako House for your next Big Island stay ! Aloha, bill
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Nov 1, 2017, Bill said…
Lako House is a great place to stay for large families
Date of Stay: Oct 7, 2017
Located close to Kona town, spacious rooms, lots of amenities, inviting pool & jacuzzi, and staff that responds very quickly. If you do your homework (like we did), and compare houses that cater to large groups, you’ll find Lako House is great place to stay for large groups / families.

Lako Response:
Thank you Bill for your kind feedback. We’re glad that your ‘homework’ pointed to Lako House and we look forward to perhaps hosting your family someday again in the future. Aloha, bill
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Sep 23, 2017, Steven H. said…
Wonderful time
Date of Stay: Sep 13, 2017
Got to celebrate our daughter’s birthday with some friends & fam! Loved the view, pool & house!!!

Lako Response:
Steven / Nikki … You folks were great !! As you know … Early on, we were quite concerned / nervous about the event your ‘Ohana’ was planning. But our concern was unfounded … Not only did you folks leave the place quite clean upon departure, but the neighbors had absolutely NO issues with your gathering. Thank you again for staying at Lako House and please do come back again someday. Aloha, bill
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Jan 2, 2018, Mike T. said…
Greatest vacation home in Kona, Big Island !!
Date of Stay: Dec 14, 2017
We were so much glad to stay at Lako House in December. There is no better place than Lako House. Enjoyed beautiful sunset ocean view every day and you can actually see the horizontal line to feel the roundness of earth. Entire property is well maintained and the owner definitely provide such excellent service. The swimming pool and Jacuzzi were very clean and made us so much relaxed and even watched lots of stars while we were enjoying Jacuzzi hot bath. We really hope to go back to this place again and definitely recommend everyone who is looking for the perfect place to stay in Big Island.

Lako Response:
Aloha Mike & Junko ! We are very pleased to hear your family enjoyed your stay at Lako House ! We hope you folks will come and stay at Lako House again someday in the near future. We wish you all very Happy New Year 2018 !! bill

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Oct 3, 2017, Hidenori N. said…
Amazing Sunset and Quiet Village. IT’S LAKO HOUSE !
Date of Stay: Jun 22, 2017
We came to Hawaii for the our wedding ceremony at Mokuaikaua church, the oldest in Hawaii. It was the second time that we came to Hawaii Island. Since my best friends came to this trip to Hawaii this time, I found LAKO HOUSE, where all of us can stay. LAKO HOUSE, which we stayed for a total of 9 people, is very large and quiet village. And there was a very big pool and a hot water jacuzzi. We entered the pool every morning and entered the jacuzzi every evening and enjoyed there with everyone. The best thing was to see the ocean from the room. KONA SUNSET I watched every day is amazing! For dinner for about a week’s stay, we cooked using ISLAND KICHEN. we ate dinner with Kona beer is memorable. There are too many memories, I can not write it, but one word at the end. What we were able to stay at LAKO HOUSE was the best. The owner’s BILL was very kind and care at any time. I appreciate it very much.

Lako Response:
Aloha Ace & Mikako-san, We trust you two are settling into your life together. Mahalo Nui for your the kind review of your stay at Lako House. Your group added to the rich history of wedding parties over the years at Lako House ! Thank you for choosing Lako House and we hope that someday you will come back and visit / stay with us again. All the best to you two over the coming years together. Makoto ni Arigatou Gozaimasu ! bill Lako House
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Jan 24, 2017 … Kiri A. said…
Perfect Aloha Stay!!

Date of Stay: Dec 28, 2016
Our group of 15 (plus a baby) had an incredible stay on the Big Island. The home is set up perfect for groups of families with three bedrooms (with adequate space for a whole family to stay in), a large family living room, beautiful dining room and perfectly stocked kitchen. We rented the Ohana studio also for our family with the baby and it was great for them to have their own space for the baby, but still be within ‘shouting’ distance if needed. The pool and hot tub were the perfect size for our group. The kitchen was well stocked with everything you could need (coffee maker, rice cooker, coolers, glasses for everybody, pots / pans / utensils…there was nothing missing from the supply). All the bathrooms were not only convenient but needed for the number of people we had. There is not one negative thing I can think of to say about this property. It is beautiful, large, provides everything you need and has an unbeatable view. We watched the whales breaching out of the water while sipping coffee and planning our days, were surrounded by fire works from all sides on New Years Eve, and enjoyed the breeze coming the screened windows and doors each evening. Beautiful. Wishing I was there now!

Recommended for: Families with Young Children, Sightseeing, Adventure Seekers, Age 55+, Families with Teenagers. 

Lako Response:
Mahalo Kiri … WoW ! We are so very happy to hear that you folks loved Lako House. And, that’s a common theme when it comes to large groups / families at Lako … It’s a great place to chill, cook, dine, play with baby, bath, swim, relax, view, sip, drink, eat, live and enjoy life ! Thank you for sharing your time at Lako House with all of us !! Aloha, bill

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Jan 24, 2017 … MARCY S. said…
Great place for a group
Date of Stay: Nov 19, 2016
We had five families on this stay and this house was great for us. We had plenty of space. Most of our at-home time was spent out on the patio. Having access to a pool/hot tub is a must — keeps the kids entertained. The view from the pool area is amazing! Very short drive to town, restaurants, coffee, store, etc.

Recommended for: People with Disabilities, Families with Young Children, Sightseeing, Adventure Seekers, Age 55+, Families with Teenagers.

Lako Response:
Thank you Marcy for your group’s stay at Lako House and kind review. We of course love the opportunity of hosting groups such as yours because it clearly showcases and leverages Lako House’s big-group capabilities and why it’s not just a place to ‘stay’ but also to ‘live and relax’. Please do come back again someday. Aloha, bill

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Apr 6, 2016 … Erin said…
Perfect for Our Student Group Spending a Week on the Big Island
Date of Stay: Jan 4, 2016
Our university group stayed at the Lako House to accommodate our group of 21 while we were studying geography on the Big Island. The location was great — not too far from the local shopping where we bought groceries, etc. Our students loved the house — it gave them a chance to bond while the professors stayed in the Ohana suite. We are already working on our reservation for next year. Great staff, beautiful home, and a few minutes from the ocean.

Recommended for: People with Disabilities, Sightseeing, Girls Getaway, Adventure Seekers, Age 55+, Romantic Getaway, Families with Teenagers.

Lako Response:
Mahalo Erin for your Lako House review ! We look forward to seeing your group return again in Jan 2017 … (and by the way, you folks will see some nice remodeling updates by then as well !). Aloha, bill

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
May 16, 2016 … Marilyn D. said…
Excellent View
Date of Stay: Aug 16, 2015
We had a large family trying to find a reasonable house to accommodate us and found this treasure. They were very helpful and took care of everything for us. Would like to return again.

Recommended for: Families with Young Children, Sightseeing, Age 55+, Romantic Getaway, Families with Teenagers.

Lako Response:
Thank you Marilyn for your comments. We look forward to your group returning to Lako House in the future. Cheers, bill

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Aug 25, 2014 … Sarah S. said…
Lako House a place to stay with large families!
Date of Stay: Jul 28, 2014
It took us about a year of planning with a large family, we rented three home and Lako management Bill was able to accommodate us all. Lako Main, Ohana and House Next Door (HND) for the dates. Bill was very at attentive to my needs and our families safety. He was there in every step. Bill helped us make wonderful memories at Kona. I would highly recommend this place for large family!

Recommended for: Families with Young Children, Sightseeing, Girls Getaway, Age 55+, Families with Teenagers.

Lako Response:
Thank you Sarah for sharing your feedback. It’s great fun to host a big family such as yours and with three units, that’s when Lako House can really show its value, etc. Please do come back and visit again someday in the future. Aloha, bill …

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Aug 9, 2014 … Grandma Miller said…
Date of Stay: Jul 10, 2014
The Lako House was very easy to find. There is good access to main roads and all sorts of shopping and site seeing. We used Costco for supplies and gas. Also discovered the Ross store which was very reasonable for the younger ones to pick up extra clothing etc. The house is very spacious and nicely decorated. Loved, loved, loved the openness of the windows that wrapped around the living space, the lanai and pool area where we all lived when not exploring the rest of the island. The grounds were very well kept. Thank you for the use of your wonderful house to relax, play and do some serious bonding with our extended family! Would recommend Lake House to friends and family. As a matter of fact I’m missing Hawaii very much as I write this message. Mahalo nui loa 

Lako Response:
Thank you Sharon for your feedback !! … We’d love to have your big group join us again … Aloha, bill

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Dec 6, 2013 … Kads said…
Lako House for families
Lako House Date of Stay: Nov 27, 2013
Helpful votes: 6
Lako house is home away from home and more! We were a group of 12 people including kids ranging from 1year to 7 years, adults up to 70 years old and they all loved staying here! The major PROS : 1. Location, location, location: Between Ali’i drive and highway giving us easy access to everything, Safeway Kona town, beach 2. Short drive to my fav snorkeling beach. 3. Pool and jacuzzi 4. Very equipped kitchen 5. Spacious!! Every bedroom had multiple beds for kids to sleep. 6. Wifi (Very imp for the techies from silicon valley) 7. 180 degree of breathtaking views!! Cons: 1. I could only have vacation for 5 days 🙁 Bill was VERY responsive and answered all our questions right away. A property I would recommend in a heartbeat.

Recommended for: People with Disabilities, Families with Young Children, Petfriendly, Sightseeing, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Age 55+, Romantic Getaway, Families with Teenagers.

Lako Response:
Thank you Kadambari for your feedback ! We look forward to hosting your family & friends someday at Lako House again in the future … Aloha, bill

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Sep 26, 2014 … Junya K. said…
Spent wonderful vacation at Lako House
Page 23 of 31
Date of Stay: Sep 26, 2013
We came and visited Big Island from Tokyo Japan, and we all had wonderful time there.

Recommended for: Families with Young Children, Sightseeing, Girls Getaway, Age 55+, Romantic Getaway, Families with Teenagers.

Lako Response:
Hello Junya ! Thank you very much for the kind comments !! … We are very happy to hear that your friends & family enjoyed your time at Lako House. We hope you can come and stay at Lako House some day again in the future … 宜し くお願い致します。 Aloha, bill

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Jul 30, 2013 … Alyssa said…
Family Vacation 2013
Date of Stay: Jul 19, 2013
Helpful votes: 3
We spent a week in Hawaii where the weather and water was wonderful but the house was perfect! Plenty of room for our group of 11. Everyone had their own space and didn’t feel like we were on top of everyone. The kitchen was fully stocked with cookware, utensils and plates; the only thing we had to buy was the food, spices were also fully stocked. The pool was the perfect size and the openness of the house was refreshing but most of all the view was breathtaking! Fantastic house we hope to return again in the future.

Recommended for: Families with Young Children, Sightseeing, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers.

Lako Response:
Hello Alyssa and Mahalo for your feedback ! Yes the view … especially in the morning, the ocean view is so blue, so amazing !! (and of course feel free to revisit our website again to see the view via the pictures & video, etc. … Thank you again for choosing Lako House … We look forward in hosting your group again in the near future … Aloha, bill

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
May 9, 2013 … Class of 2013 said…
Trip Leader
Date of Stay: Apr 23, 2013
Helpful votes: 1
The house was beautiful, fit our space needs very well, and Bill was very accommodating, always available, and made the entire operation as easy as could be imagined. We loved our stay all around!

Recommended for: Families with Young Children, Sightseeing, Girls Getaway, Age 55+, Romantic Getaway, Families with Teenagers.

Lako Response:
Thank you Jeremy for the comments … We believe Lako House is well set-up for large group accommodations and we in fact host 2-3 school groups every year. Given a 19,000 sq ft property lot, large room sizes, and the great number of beds available at Lako House (not to mention when a group also rents other/neighboring houses), Lako House is ideal for large (25-30 person) group/family gatherings, etc. … Perhaps we’ll see your school again next year (?) … 🙂 Thanks again for staying at Lako House !! … Aloha, bill

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Apr 6, 2013 … Greta said…
Lako House on The Big Island
Date of Stay: Mar 22, 2013
Helpful votes: 3

Wow! Wow! What a near-perfect setting for a large family gathering for a very special occasion! We departed Lako House a week ago this morning and seeing the VRBO photo makes me want to be right back there. There were twelve of us ~ eight adults and four “tweens”. The very large kitchen is well-equipped with every conceivable appliance, pot and pan, dish and glass that could be needed. The two outdoor barbecues make cooking outdoors convenient. The lanai tables and chairs, which rest on a deck above the pool, make for superb ocean vistas when eating meals outdoors. The swimming pool and hot tub are very well cared for. Eating indoors in the dining room, there are seats for 13, when including stools on the dining room side of the open kitchen. The living room area and entryway are most spacious. The setting is positively beautiful and unique for a home in a residential neighborhood, in that it is entirely private, with absolutely nothing obstructing the 180-degree magnificent views of the ocean. It is beautifully landscaped. We used Ohana, also, so that each of our families-within-the-larger-family could have their own bedroom. Bill is a most cooperative owner who made accommodations to our special requests. The only small liability of the property is the lack of an attached bathroom to the second-largest bedroom. The occupants of that bedroom need to step across the hall to a lovely powder room with toilet and basin, or step around the corner into the laundry room to use that basin and shower. Then there’s always the extra bathroom within the master suite (which contains two very large bathrooms), that can be put to use for those second-bedroom guests, too. So, it’s doable, just a bit inconvenient. This property is clearly an older house, but is extremely well-maintained, and expertly-equipped. Prospective guests need have not single worry about renting it!

Recommended for: People with Disabilities, Sightseeing, Adventure Seekers, Age 55+, Families with Teenagers.

Lako Response:
Thank you very much Gwen for your thorough review. Lako House in fact was the first home of the architect and general contractor who constructed both the Komohana & Kilohana subdivision homes in the neighborhood. And so … Since Lako House was to be his ‘pad’, he made it the ONLY house constructed with a sole driveway connecting to Lako Street, featuring probably one of the most massive rock wall structures in Kona prominently overlooking the neighborhood giving unobstructed ocean views from some 30-40 feet high, etc. Another feature of the original home was an indoor garden … Yes, in fact the ‘Big’ room as we call it (536 sq ft), was more of a study / relaxation area in that it had many indoor tropical plants, indoor water fall, etc. (and thus no attached bathroom).

The next owner of Lako House (professional baseball player) however decided they wanted more bedrooms / beds for guests and so the conversion took place to what we see today … A very large room with 7 beds, access to a small patio area overlooking the front yard, shower & basin area just outside the room to the right & W/C down the hall. There’s additional Lako House history regarding the Ohana studio unit as well … The original architect / owner was an avid fisherman and so built a massive, 3 door, two-car + one boat garage. However the third owner wanted to run his business in an area separated from the main house and thus, the Ohana unit was born by converting the large boat + 1 car garage area into a very large studio area (990 sq ft) including separate sleeping bath, hot/cold water, minikitchen/dining facilities. And so, 16+ years and 3 remodels later, Lako House is still a place for groups ranging from small to very large … Even some groups rent out additional homes next door / nearby making Lako House the central home to enjoy the pool, meet & congregate. In closing, we wish to say ‘MAHALO!’ Gwen & Jim for choosing Lako House as your Winter place to stay for your large family ! We look forward to having you folks visit us again in the future and wish you all the best of this year’s coming Spring, Summer and Fall !! Aloha, bill

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Mar 20, 2013 … Deano said…
Great Find!
Date of Stay: Mar 8, 2013
Page 27 of 31
Very nice property with a spectacular view! Great neighborhood–very private property. I stayed in the Ohana which was plenty big and comfortable. Proximal to main “downtown” area–a short drive or a nice long walk. Access to pool and hot tub are a nice touch. I watched the sunset from the roomy deck–awesome.

Recommended for: Families with Young Children, Sightseeing, Adventure Seekers, Age 55+, Families with Teenagers.

Lako Response:
Dean … Thank you very much for staying with us at Lako House … We look forward to perhaps hosting you folks sometime again !! All the best .. bill

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Mar 6, 2013 … Irishfan said…
Great place to stay
Date of Stay: Feb 8, 2013
This was a great place to stay. I found the location to be perfect everything you needed was there. I needed a place to rest and relax and enjoy Kona. Great communication by the owners. I will be back to see more of the island. I recommend Lako house!

Recommended for: Families with Young Children, Sightseeing, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers.

Lako Response:
Thank you Frances for your review … We hope to see you folks again at Lako House someday in the near future ! bill

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Feb 28, 2013 … Frances said…
Ohana Studio Unit stay … 7 nights / 2 persons
Date of Stay: Feb 8, 2013
Phone voice message left on 19 Feb 2013:
“Hello Bill, this is Frances … Just stayed at the Ohana house and wanted to thank you again for the opportunity to be there … Really enjoyed the place and the location, everything was really great … Appreciate you working with us to getting some things that we needed … so I just want to check in and make sure everything was right .. Thank you so much .. Bye-Bye”

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Feb 21, 2013 … Lori said…
2 Wonderful Weeks at the Lako House in Kailua-Kona
Date of Stay: Jan 18, 2013
Helpful votes: 3
We just got back from a 2-week girls trip at the Lako House in Kailua-Kona. What a great house, it worked out perfectly for us. Our numbers fluctuated a bit because several of our group couldn’t stay the whole 2 weeks, but there were 7 to 10 of us at any time. The first bedroom had a king bed, 2 twins and 2 day beds (with trundles we didn’t use); the 2nd room had 2 twin beds; and the 3rd room had a king bed, a futon bed and a daybed (with trundle). It was great that we could all have our own beds. There are 2 big bathrooms in the ‘master bedroom’, 1 with a shower only and one with shower/tub. Both have large closets. The room with the 2 twin beds also has a full bathroom with tub/shower. Then there is a 1/2 bath just off the main entry. And behind the kitchen is a small laundry room with another shower and a sink. It was really easy to share the different spaces and we never felt like we had to wait in line for bathroom access. Though the wall to wall (and ceiling) mirrors in the 1/2 bath caused a lot of laughing and comments about keeping the lights turned off. With 10 women there was a lot of laundry being washed too. We liked using the 2 drying racks which we set up in the side yard. We only rented the main house, but it was great. It was clean, the kitchen was very well stocked with dishes, etc. and even a few different kinds of coolers we could borrow when we went to the beach. We usually had breakfast and dinner at home, so we used the kitchen a lot. Bill even got us a 2nd coffee pot which let us make 2 kinds of coffee (dark roast & medium roast) each morning so there was no arguing about coffee :-). The pool deck is the crowning glory of the house. What a wonderful space. The upper section is tiled, and has lots of chairs and 3 outdoor tables. We ate breakfast and dinner outside almost every day. The view out across the pool to the ocean was wonderful. We saw quite a few whales while sitting on the deck. The BBQ area is great with an easy to use the propane grill. And the hot tub is a big plus. What a great space to warm up after snorkeling with the dolphins or body surfing at Hapuna. Bill can also set up the wi-fi. We’ve rented houses frequently these last 10 years and usually we have trouble hooking up to the wi-fi, but no one had trouble at the Lako House. We all had smart phones, and there were a couple of laptops and a iPad. So there was a lot of e-mail checking and Facebook posting going on.

Recommended for: Families with Young Children, Sightseeing, Girls Getaway, Adventure Seekers, Age 55+, Families with Teenagers.

Lako Response:
Dear Lori … Thank so very much for such an in-depth review of your group’s stay at Lako House. We hope that someday we will get a chance to host you folks again. All the best !! bill / Lako House

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Feb 7, 2013 … HK said…
Great house
Date of Stay: Nov 25, 2012
We stayed at the Lako House for 10 days right after Thanksgiving and there were 11 of us. The house is big enough to fit everyone. It is even better than the pictures on the website. The house is clean, bed sheets were clean and kitchen is well stocked with all the utensils. The backyard is awesome, kids loved swimming. The location is very good. The house is near a public beach and all the stores in case you need to go buy food. My whole family was very happy with the stay. I would definitely recommend this house for a large party. 

Recommended for: Families with Young Children, Sightseeing, Adventure Seekers, Age 55+, Families with Teenagers.

Lako Response:
Aloha Harinder, Thank you so very much for the kind review & feedback of your stay at Lako House. We look forward to perhaps hosting you folks again someday. All the best, bill Lako House

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Oct 17, 2012 … Marc said…
Great place!
Date of Stay: Aug 15, 2012
Awesome place! We stayed at the Lako House for a week and it was wonderful. Perfect location and amazing view. I would come back in a heartbeat.

Recommended for: Sightseeing, Girls Getaway, Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway.

Lako Response:
Thank you Marc for your review / feedback. We look forward to seeing you folks again someday at Lako House ! Aloha, bill

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Jan 4, 2012 … Rainbow Miller said…
The great place in Kona with an amazing ocean view!!
Date of Stay: Oct 24, 2011
We have stayed at Lako House 4 times already and we always enjoy staying…looking at the sunset over the sea is too beautiful for words! Good neighbors here are also important for our children too. The owner is very friendly and flexible to help you so that you have nothing to worry to stay this gorgeous big house!! 

Recommended for: Families with Young Children, Age 55+, Romantic Getaway, Families with Teenagers.

Lako Response:
Thank you Shizuka for your friendly feedback and visiting Lako House year after year with your school kids. We look forward in seeing you all again. All the best, bill / Lako House

(Airbnb stay)

Date of Stay: Nov 04, 2019
今まで沢山のホテルやコテージ等に泊まって来ましたが、間違いなくこの家が今までで最高 の家でした! ハワイ島らしい癒しをまとい、街までのアクセスも最高、ショッピングモールも近い、海も 近い。何よりもプールサイドから見下ろせるサンセットは息をのみます。ハワイに来ているのに居心 地が良すぎて家でただただゆっくり時間を過ごしたくなる最高の場所でした。オーナーの ビルさんも流暢に日本語を話し、予約のときからチェックアウトまで一切不安を感じることな く泊まれます。今回、我々は大きな人数変更があったにもかかわらず、無条件で変更を 受けて頂いたり、感謝しか出てこないです。 MAHALO!

Private Feedback:
bill さん、今回の宿泊に際して行ってくれた全ての事に感謝します。心の底からあり がとうございました1つ気がかりな事として、残していった食べ物が少し多く なりすぎてしまいました。バナナ、レモンなどの果物も置いて行かざるを得なくな り、すいません。従業員の方々などで食べて頂けたら幸いです。 我々が到着す る日に、ジャグジーを温めておいてくれてありがとうございます。また、プールサイ ドのカーテンを開けておいてくれて、我々の到着時の喜びが倍増しました!沢山のお 気遣いをありがうございます。また必ずリピート利用させて頂きますので宜しくお願 いします! 最後に、ダイニングテーブルに今回の宿泊者全員からのお礼の手紙を 置かせてもらいました。届くといいなぁ!

Lako response:
Nozomu-san’s group gently used our Lako House and departed the place very cleanly. ‘Mahalo Nui Loa’ to Nozomu-san and we look forward to hosting his group again someday in the future. bill / Lako House
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

(Airbnb stay)
Date of Stay: Oct 04, 2019
was an absolute great getaway! The house has everything we needed to cook, relax, and enjoy a nice weekend. We’re used to AC and this place does not have AC, but the fans were okay. The pool and jacuzzi were great, in addition to the ocean view! We will definitely book this place again!

Lako response:
Thank you Jerra for the very kind review. With the cathedral ceilings in all rooms and lots of windows to let breezes flow, we’ve been able to avoid needing to ACize the entire area of Lako House. Going forward, we will also be putting on a new metal roof in the coming months and that should reflect even more heat away. Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to hosting you folks again at Lako House someday soon
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
(Airbnb stay)
Date of Stay: Jun 23, 2019
Would 100% recommend staying here. House is beautiful and the view from the backyard is amazing. beaches, restaurants and sight seeing all really close. It’s in a Nice quiet neighborhood and you have plenty of privacy. The host was great to rent from.

Lako response:
Great communication with our team (new coffee maker in place- Mahalo !) and, left Lako House in a respectfully clean state. Please do come back and stay with Lako House again !
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
(Airbnb stay)
Date of Stay: Jun 17, 2019
Outstanding View, Clean, Old Needs updates and air conditioning!

Private Feedback:
Thank you for the use of your home!

Lako response:
Deborah .. Thank you for letting us know about the misleading mention of ‘AC’ on that OTHER (non-Airbnb) website; that website admin has been alerted and our listing has been updated. With that said, we did confirm that our listing on Airbnb does correctly state that AC is available only as an option for just the Twin Room at Lako House. For those that might be reading about this topic for the first time, please note that Kona has a very mild climate, where year-round, average Kona temperatures average 83-84 degrees in the day and 71 degrees at night (and much cooler at night in the Oct-Mar months). Temperature also depends on house design / orientation, time of year, and location. And while it may be very hard to do without A/C in tightly packed-in condo units or small homes with minimal window breezes or homes located in valley or humid beach front areas, Lako House on the other hand sits high upon 30ft rock wall and at an elevation over 300ft; with cathedral ceilings in EVERY room and much less humidity in typically dry Kona, cool breezes that come through the numerous windows are sufficient. Therefore, with very little / no humidity, Air Conditioning at Lako House is not really needed. When it is warm, just keep ceiling & floor fans running with windows & screened sliding doors open to let in / keep the trade breezes flowing.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

(Airbnb stay)
Date of Stay: May 22, 2019
Our entire group had an amazing time. The location could not be beat! Perfect location for sipping coffee or having a cocktail by the pool, with the best view of the ocean around! Bill was extremely responsive and really made us feel welcome. We’ll definitely be staying here the next time we visit.

Private Feedback:
Thank you so much for everything! Our entire group had an amazing time. The location could not be beat! Perfect location for sipping coffee or having a cocktail by the pool, with the best view of the ocean around! We’ll definitely be staying here the next time we visit.

Lako response:
Richie … Thank you again for you and your group being excellent guests at Lako House and treating our home with kindness and respect. We look forward in hosting you folks again someday in the future. Aloha, bill Lako House
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
What a great place! .. (Airbnb stay)
Date of Stay: Mar 30, 2019
You can’t beat the back porch, with a pool, hot tub and simply incredible view. The back porch alone was worth the stay! The house had plenty of room for the 7 of us, with all the amenities needed. Location was very convenient, close to the airport and about 5 minutes to downtown. We loved our stay here. Thanks, Bill!

Private Feedback:
Thank you, Bill! We had a great stay! Appreciate your hospitality.

Lako response:
Hello again Katie … Many ‘Mahalos’ for staying at Lako House. Please do come back again some day soon Aloha, bill
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Breathtaking … (Airbnb stay)
Date of Stay: Nov 05, 2018
That is the first thing that comes to mind when you walk in the entrance and look through the windows out into the pool area overlooking the Pacific Ocean. The Lako house was more than accommodating with everything we could have ever imagined needing inside one beautiful home. All the rooms and sleeping arrangements were extremely clean and we felt nothing but comfortable and excited for each moment to spend there absorbing such incredible views. The landscaping was absolutely perfect and waking up to the sound of the waterfall pouring into the pool every morning was unforgettable. We are already planning our next trip back because the experience was so amazing. Thank you again for sharing this house in creating unforgettable memories for all of us!

Private Feedback:
We’re Extremely thankful for your immediate response and opening your Airbnb to us with such short notice. You turned what was going to be an unfortunate series of events lodging for us into an unforgettable experience that has us now already talking about coming back at everyone’s earliest convenience! This was a wonderful home to stay in and you did a great job being a great host.

Lako Response:
Aloha Jesse & team … Thank you for the amazing feedback. We of course are NOT perfect at Lako House but thanks to guests like you folks, we continue to learn and improve 😉 ! We look forward to having you come back and hopefully someday, other new guests, may discover and stay here at Lako House as well. Mahalo Nui Loa !!

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Ut elit tellus, luctus nec ullamcorper mattis, pulvinar dapibus leo.

Aloha from Lako House

  • As of 16 June 2020, Lako House is accepting short & long term bookings from 'Essential Workers', Inter-Island travelers and, also persons who have completed their Hawaii County mandated 14-days hotel quarantine.
  • Based upon Hawaii County present restrictions in place as of 16 June 2020, Lako House is ALSO accepting group bookings at this time for dates beginning on 01 Aug 2020 and beyond.
  • If you have any questions or concerns, please do contact us directly by phone at +1 (808) 329-6804, by phone or text at +1 (408) 930-2758 or click here to contact us

We look forward in potentially hosting your group at Lako House

Rev. 6/30/2020